“Evanescences” is a personal research on minimalist atmospheres and refined landscapes, photographed here and there from my doorstep to northern Europe.
Snow, ice and mist form the soul of this exhibition, the thread of what has nourished my photographic eyes for several years. This series of images is an extension of my previous work, “The Scots Souls”, which restores a graphic and aesthetic vision of nature. A way for my eyes to go to the essential by retaining only the few elements that outline more than they describe the subject.
The suggestion is certainly the fruit of a certain maturity of my photographic approach and a sensitivity that favor the contemplative expression. The development of my creative vision more than a more figurative approach.
“Let your emotions speak for you by what they express rather than by what they are.”
The evanescence is said of what disappears progressively. A very present symbolism as soon as we observe the natural phenomena like a shower of snow blurring the lines of the trees, a mist rising on a pond, the foam of a wave breaking on a rock, the water running under the ice of a river, or an animal whose contours fade to blend in with the white …
White, this non-color which sublimates the richness of the nuances and reveals the softness of the contrasts is the link of the felted atmospheres that I like. In this monochrome universe, between dream and reality, I contemplate, observe and research the moment when the magic operates, transforming the image into a sketch.
These moments lead me to a very dreamlike vision of nature, which forces me to go beyond reality to render different images, emitting emotion and poetry to let the mystery operate.
Paradoxically, these ephemeral visions give me the impression of being able to transform into timeless creations. An approach that echoes my sensitivity and that sign my photographic eye.

  • Name of the exhibition Evanescences
  • Origin France
  • Exhibition site Saint-Aubain Cathedral

« Evanescences » est une recherche personnelle sur les ambiances minimalistes et les paysages épurés, photographiés ici et là depuis le pas de ma porte jusqu’aux contrées du nord de l’Europe.
Neige, glace et brume forment l’âme de cette exposition, le fil conducteur de ce qui nourrit mon regard photographique depuis plusieurs années. Cette série d’images est le prolongement de mon précédent travail, « Les âmes sylvestres », qui restitue une vision graphique et esthétique de la nature. Une manière pour mon regard d’aller à l’essentiel en ne retenant que les quelques éléments qui esquissent plus qu’ils ne décrivent le sujet.
La suggestion est assurément le fruit d’une certaine maturité de mon approche photographique et d’une sensibilité qui favorisent l’expression contemplative. Le développement de ma vision créative plus qu’une approche plus figurative.
« Laisser parler ses émotions pour entrevoir les choses par ce qu’elles expriment plutôt que par ce qu’elles sont ».
L’évanescence se dit de ce qui disparait progressivement. Une symbolique très présente dès que l’on observe les phénomènes naturels comme une averse de neige qui estompe les lignes des arbres, une brume qui se lève sur un étang, l’écume d’une vague qui déferle sur un rocher, l’eau qui court sous la glace d’une rivière, ou encore un animal dont les contours s’estompent pour se fondre dans le blanc …
Le blanc, cette non couleur qui sublime la richesse des nuances et révèle la douceur des contrastes est le liant des ambiances feutrées que j’affectionne. Dans cet univers monochrome, entre rêve et réalité, je contemple, observe et recherche le moment ou la magie opère, transformant l’image en esquisse.
Ces moments me portent vers une vision très onirique de la nature, qui me forcent à dépasser la réalité pour en restituer des images différentes, faisant émerger l’émotion et la poésie pour laisser le mystère opérer.
Paradoxalement, ces visions éphémères me donnent l’impression de pouvoir se transformer en créations intemporelles. Une approche qui fait écho à ma sensibilité et qui signe mon regard photographique.

  • Nom de l'exposition Evanescences
  • Origine France
  • Site d'exposition Cathédrale Saint-Aubain