Vincent Munier

“I try to convey an emotion, to show the beauty of nature, its mystery and its strength. “

Vincent Munier was born in Épinal, in the Vosges, in 1976. His childhood is spent building carts, bivouac in the forest, canoe down rivers, climbing walls … His father, Michael, environmentalist of the first hour, reveals him his camper tricks and conveys to him the visceral need to “enter the forest on tiptoe”. Vincent is 12 when, hidden under a camouflage canvas and trembling with emotion, he makes his first shot of deer.
After high school, his travels take him first to the primary forests of the Eastern countries to cross bears, lynx, wolves, then in Scandinavia to follow the migratory journey of cranes. In 1999, he published his first book, The Ballet of Cranes.
Horticultural worker, mason, photojournalist, he accumulates odd jobs to finance the purchase of material. Encouraged by several successes in the Wildlife Photographer of the Year contest organized by the BBC, he decided in 2002 to focus exclusively on wildlife photography. Through a scholarship, he spends three months on the island of Hokkaido to photograph Japanese cranes and swans singers under the snow. Will come out the book Tancho (2004), personal and poetic.

Vincent is known for his unique photographic writing, inspired by Japanese prints and minimalist art: fog, rain, snow and blizzard dress landscapes and animals, of which we sometimes distinguish only the silhouettes. His images come from more and more distant quests and long patiences to be forgotten by the legitimate inhabitants of nature: wolves of Ethiopia, brown bears of Kamchatka, white wolves and musk oxen of the Arctic, snow leopards of the plateau Tibetan, emperor penguins from Antarctica …
In 2013, he spent a single, unassisted month on the frozen island of Ellesmere in the Canadian Arctic at 80 ° N. A pack of nine white wolves comes to meet him: these “ghosts of the tundra” will be found in his book Arctic (2015).
Snow Leopard, another elusive predator he photographed for the first time in the spring of 2016 on the Tibetan high plateau, he will shoot two books in 2018, including Tibet, animal mineral with the traveler writer Sylvain Tesson.

Over the course of his photographic adventures, Vincent Munier has established himself as one of the greatest “animals” of his generation. He exhibits today in art galleries in Europe and the United States and publishes his images in the international press. Author of a dozen books, he founded the Kobalann editions in 2010 and supports several associations for the protection of wildlife. His base camp is still established in his native Vosges.

  • Name of the exhibition TIBET, animal mineral
  • Origin France{:]
  • Exhibition site Saint Joseph Church

Vincent Munier

« Je cherche à transmettre une émotion, à montrer la beauté de la nature, son mystère et sa force. »

Vincent Munier est né à Épinal, dans les Vosges, en 1976. Son enfance se passe à construire des affûts, bivouaquer en forêt, descendre des rivières en canoë, escalader des parois… Son père, Michel, écologiste de la première heure, lui dévoile ses astuces de campeur et lui transmet le besoin viscéral d’« entrer dans la forêt sur la pointe des pieds ». Vincent a 12 ans lorsque, dissimulé sous une toile de camouflage et tremblant d’émotion, il réalise son premier cliché de chevreuil.

Après le lycée, ses voyages l’emmènent d’abord dans les forêts primaires des pays de l’Est pour croiser ours, lynx, loups, puis en Scandinavie pour suivre le périple migratoire des grues cendrées. En 1999, il publie son premier livre, Le Ballet des grues.

Ouvrier horticole, maçon, photojournaliste, il cumule les petits boulots pour financer l’achat de matériel. Encouragé par plusieurs succès dans le concours « Wildlife Photographer of the Year » organisé par la BBC, il décide en 2002 de se consacrer exclusivement à la photographie de la vie sauvage. Grâce à une bourse, il passe trois mois sur l’île d’Hokkaïdo pour photographier les grues du Japon et les cygnes chanteurs sous la neige. En sortira le livre Tancho (2004), personnel et poétique.

Vincent se fait connaître par une écriture photographique unique, inspirée par les estampes japonaises et l’art minimaliste : la brume, la pluie, la neige et le blizzard habillent paysages et animaux, dont on distingue parfois seulement les silhouettes. Ses images naissent de quêtes de plus en plus lointaines et de longues patiences pour se faire oublier des légitimes habitants de la nature : loups d’Éthiopie, ours bruns du Kamtchatka, loups blancs et bœufs musqués de l’Arctique, panthères des neiges du plateau tibétain, manchots empereurs de l’Antarctique…

En 2013, il passe un mois seul et sans assistance sur l’île glacée d’Ellesmere, dans l’Arctique canadien, par 80° de latitude nord. Une meute de neuf loups blancs vient à sa rencontre : ces « fantômes de la toundra » se retrouveront dans son livre Arctique (2015).

De la panthère des neiges, autre prédateur élusif qu’il photographie pour la première fois au printemps 2016 sur le haut plateau tibétain, il tirera deux livres en 2018, dont Tibet, minéral animal avec l’écrivain voyageur Sylvain Tesson.

Au fil de ses aventures photographiques, Vincent Munier s’est imposé comme l’un des plus grands « animaliers » de sa génération. Il expose aujourd’hui dans des galeries d’art en Europe et aux États-Unis et publie ses images dans la presse internationale. Auteur d’une douzaine de livres, il a fondé les éditions Kobalann en 2010 et soutient plusieurs associations de protection de la faune sauvage. Son camp de base est toujours établi dans ses Vosges natales.

  • Nom de l'exposition TIBET, minéral animal
  • Origine France
  • Site d'exposition Eglise Saint Joseph