Claudine and Philippe Thimister, a couple of amateur photographers, share the same passion for nature and travel. They are engaged in various nature protection associations.

Lake Baikal is a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Containing 20% ​​of the world’s freshwater, it is the largest reservoir. National parks and nature reserves occupy most of its very sparsely populated coastline. If the lake were emptied, an entire year would not be enough to fill its basin by diverting the whole
rivers of the world.

In winter, the thickness of the frozen surface reaches more than one meter. Many travelers move on skates, bicycles, sledges. Others walk several hundred kilometers and sleep in tents.

The ice cream is constantly cracking. The intense cold causes cracks wide 2 to 3 meters from where emerge real masterpieces of ice. They are 10 to 30 kilometers long and divide the ice in different areas, each year in almost the same places. Therefore, fish do not die of lack of oxygen.

Signage allows motorized traffic including trucks up to 10 tons. But, many souls meet in the depths! Water freezes layer by layer. The ice offers different patterns or transparency that we see bubbles, taking beautiful white hues. They develop from gaseous methane produced by algae. The only river that flows from the lake is Angara. 336 other rivers flow and freeze in the lake. Endemic seals take refuge in northern estuaries.

Lake Baikal is an unusual place, enigmatic, enchanting, wonderful!

  • Name of the exhibition One day, on the frozen lake
  • Origin Belgium
  • Exhibition site Saint-Aubain Cathedral

Claudine et Philippe Thimister, couple de photographes amateurs, partagent les mêmes passions pour la nature et les voyages. Ils sont engagés dans diverses associations de protection de la nature.

Le lac Baïkal est classé au patrimoine mondial de l’Unesco. Contenant 20 % des eaux douces de la planète, il en est le plus grand réservoir. Les parcs nationaux et les réserves naturelles occupent la plupart de son littoral, très peu peuplé. Si le lac était vidé, une année entière ne suffirait pas à remplir son bassin en détournant l'ensemble
des rivières du monde.

En hiver, l’épaisseur de la surface gelée atteint plus d’un mètre. Beaucoup de voyageurs se déplacent sur patins, bicyclettes, traîneaux. D’autres marchent plusieurs centaines de kilomètres et y dorment sous tentes.

La glace craque sans cesse. Le froid intense provoque des fissures larges de 2 à 3 mètres d’où émergent de véritables chefs-d’œuvre de glace. Longues de 10 à 30 kilomètres, elles divisent la glace sur différentes zones, chaque année, pratiquement aux mêmes endroits. Dès lors, les poissons ne meurent pas de manque d’oxygène.

Une signalisation autorise la circulation motorisée y compris les camions jusqu’à 10 tonnes. Mais, de très nombreuses âmes se rencontrent dans les profondeurs! L’eau gèle couche par couche. La glace offre des motifs différents ou une telle transparence que l’on y voit des bulles, prenant de belles teintes blanches. Elles se développent à partir du méthane gazeux produit par les algues. La seule rivière qui coule du lac est Angara. 336 autres cours d’eau se jettent et gèlent dans le lac. Les phoques endémiques se réfugient dans les estuaires du nord.

Le lac Baïkal est un endroit atypique, énigmatique, enchanteur, merveilleux !

  • Nom de l'exposition Un jour, sur le lac gelé
  • Origine Belgique
  • Site d'exposition Cathédrale Saint-Aubain