“Feathers, sandstone, bronze …”

“There is no other source of beauty than the wound, singular, different for each one, hidden or visible, that every man keeps in himself, that he preserves and where he retires when he wants to leave the world for a temporary but profound loneliness. ”

(Jean Genet about the work of Alberto Giacometti)

This exhibition proposes a poetic walk in the world of birds, between photos, texts and sculptures. It is the result of two nature lovers who met in 2001. That day, in a narrow alley of the Old Oppède, Michel pushes the door of Olivia’s studio. He is suddenly seized by the brilliance and perfection of the figures that populate this refuge, sheltered from the turpitudes of the world. He understood that only a deeply touched being could convey so much generosity and realism. Each sculpture is a hymn to the beauty of the living, the extension of a flood of emotions, a cry of hope and love.

Soon, the animal photographer and the sculptor discover that they are fighting the same battle: the protection of species. The work of one would only be the accomplishment of the projects of the other.

Michel will come back the following year with his wildlife photographs, allowing Olivia to discover, with great emotion, the visual strength of his snapshots. One of the clichés will give birth to a bronze sculpture: Martin fisherman “Always higher”. The idea of ​​a common exhibition will, then, make its way: the sculpture would be an extension of the photographic intention, sometimes directly inspired by the image, shifted or in continuity … Excerpts of texts will add a poetic dimension. Our two artists will entrust Elizabeth Trotignon, writer, with the task of finding legitimate writings.

After a first shared exhibition at the Regional Natural Park of Brenne (2014), they participate in the international festival of wildlife and nature photography of Montier-en-Der, in 2016. We find them, in 2017, at the field of the farm St. Martin, to Suzette, in 2018 at the House of the Truffle and Wine in Ménerbes, in 2019, at the festival “AVES” in Namur in Belgium. In 2020, they will be present at the festival Camargue and the Rhone Delta.

A committed artist, Olivia Tregaut can only conceive of her work in direct relation to current events. Each sculpture is an extension of a fight, of its immense interest for the living. Art has the function of expressing the beauty of the world to better convince of its fragility. “My Hermann’s turtles are born of the threat that weighs on the species in great decline over its range. The extinction of the gorilla seems inconceivable to me. I wanted to testify, to say my aversion to this massacre. My rock gorilla has imposed itself … ”

If emotion is always decisive, it can sometimes dress with dreams like this siren of the lunar seas, able to adapt and survive the worst disasters … “The wealth of our planet is so great that some of these beings could exist! This one, I saw it in the clouds. ”

Michel Martinazzi has been an animal photographer since 1974 and a loving observer of Brenne (Indre). His passion: to observe and photograph nature. Michel photographs the movement, the flight of a sparrow, a fishing wader or a raptor hunting. His motto: “Observe, identify, identify”, so that you can, one lucky day, realize the cliché he will remember.

Adrien Temporin

  • Name of the exhibition Feathers, sandstone, bronze ...
  • Origin France
  • Exhibition site Parliament of Wallonia

« De plumes, de grès, de bronze… »

« Il n’est pas à la beauté d’autre origine que la blessure, singulière, différente pour chacun, cachée ou visible, que tout homme garde en soi, qu’il préserve et où il se retire quand il veut quitter le monde pour une solitude temporaire mais profonde. »

(Jean Genet à propos de l’œuvre d’Alberto Giacometti)

Cette exposition propose une balade poétique dans le monde des oiseaux, entre photos, textes et sculptures. Il est le fruit de deux passionnés de nature qui se sont rencontrés en 2001. Ce jour-là, dans une ruelle étroite du Vieil Oppède, Michel pousse la porte de l’atelier d’Olivia. Il est, soudainement, saisi par l’éclat et la perfection des figures qui peuplent ce refuge, à l’abri des turpitudes du monde. Il a compris que seul un être profondément touché pouvait transmettre autant de générosité et de réalisme. Chaque sculpture est un hymne à la beauté du vivant, le prolongement d’un flot d’émotions, un cri d’espoir et d’amour.

Très vite, le photographe animalier et la sculptrice découvrent qu’ils mènent un même combat : la protection des espèces. Le travail de l’une ne serait que l’accomplissement des projets de l’autre.

Michel reviendra, l’année suivante, avec ses photographies animalières, permettant ainsi à Olivia de découvrir, avec beaucoup d’émotion, la force visuelle de ses instantanés. L’un des clichés va donner naissance à une sculpture en bronze : Martin pêcheur « Toujours plus haut ». L’idée d’une exposition commune va, alors, faire son chemin : la sculpture serait le prolongement de l’intention photographique, parfois directement inspirée par l’image, décalée ou en continuité… Des extraits de textes ajouteront une dimension poétique. Nos deux artistes confieront à Elisabeth Trotignon, écrivaine, le soin de dénicher les écrits légitimes.

Après une première exposition partagée au parc Naturel Régional de la Brenne (2014), ils participent au festival international de la photo animalière et de nature de Montier-en-Der, en 2016. On les retrouve, en 2017, au domaine de la ferme Saint-Martin, à Suzette, en 2018 à la Maison de la Truffe et du Vin à Ménerbes, en 2019, au festival « AVES » à Namur en Belgique. En 2020, ils seront présents au festival de la Camargue et du Delta du Rhône.

Artiste engagée, Olivia Tregaut ne peut concevoir son travail qu’en prise directe avec l’actualité. Chaque sculpture est le prolongement d’un combat, de son immense intérêt pour le vivant. L’art a pour fonction d’exprimer la beauté du monde pour mieux convaincre de sa fragilité. « Mes tortues d’Hermann sont nées de la menace qui pèse sur l’espèce en fort déclin sur son aire de répartition. L’extinction du gorille me paraît inconcevable. J’ai voulu témoigner, dire mon aversion pour ce massacre. Mon gorille au rocher s’est imposé… »

Si l’émotion est toujours déterminante, elle peut, quelquefois, s’habiller de rêves comme cette sirène des mers lunaires, capable de s’adapter et de survivre aux pires désastres… « La richesse de notre planète est tellement grande que certains de ces êtres pourraient exister! Celle-ci, je l’ai vue dans les nuages. »

Michel Martinazzi est photographe animalier depuis 1974 et observateur amoureux de la Brenne (Indre). Sa passion: observer et photographier la nature. Michel photographie le mouvement, l’envol d’un passereau, un échassier qui pêche ou encore un rapace en chasse. Sa devise« Observer, repérer, identifier », afin de pouvoir, un jour de chance, réaliser le cliché dont il se souviendra.

Adrien Temporin

  • Nom de l'exposition De plumes, de grès, de bronze…
  • Origine France
  • Site d'exposition Parlement de Wallonie