Ingrid Vekemans is a self taught nature photographer, born in Belgium in 1969 and still based there. Ingrid was raised in a home that was surrounded by forests and fields. She spent hours in there whenever she could, entirely fascinated by the animal world and the beauty of plants. She has always felt that nature nourishes her soul. She has been fond of photography ever since her grandmother gave her an old box camera at the age of 8. Her photography really took off with the introduction of the digital camera and she started a professional career in 2009.

Ingrid has always been fascinated by Africa, first going there in 1994. Although this continent and its wildlife remain her main focus, she has also become involved in nature photography in other regions of the world. Wildlife, forest and macro photography are her favourite subjects, but landscape photography also takes her interest. This exhibition will show ‘the best of both worlds’, a selection of her best images from Africa and elsewhere.

Ingrid captures what she sees and refrains from extensive post-processing. No elements are added or removed, as that to her conflicts with the whole idea of nature photography, which is showing the beauty of nature as it is. Through her photography Ingrid hopes to convince people to respect nature and actively protect it.

Ingrid’s work has received multiple international awards. She organises a variety of photographic workshops and writes articles for photography magazines. As she loves to share her knowledge and passion about African wildlife, she leads photo safaris in Africa. Her new book ‘SAFARI! – The Essence’ endeavours to explain her fascination with the African wilderness.

More information on www.ingridvekemans.com

  • Name of the exhibition Encounters With Nature
  • Origin Belgian
  • Exhibition site Eglise Notre-Dame
  • Web site www.ingridvekemans.com

Ingrid Vekemans est une photographe de nature autodidacte, née en Belgique en 1969 et qui y vit toujours. Ingrid a été élevée dans une maison entourée de forêts et de champs. Elle y passait des heures chaque fois qu’elle le pouvait, fascinée par le monde animal et la beauté des plantes. Elle a toujours senti que la nature nourrissait son âme. Elle adore la photographie depuis que sa grand-mère lui a donné un vieil appareil photo à l’âge de 8 ans. Sa photographie a vraiment décollé avec l’introduction de l’appareil photo numérique et elle a commencé une carrière professionnelle en 2009.

Ingrid a toujours été fascinée par l’Afrique, où elle s’est rendue pour la première fois en 1994. Bien que ce continent et sa faune restent ses principaux centres d’intérêt, elle s’est aussi impliquée dans la photographie de la nature dans d’autres régions du monde. La faune, la forêt et la macrophotographie sont ses sujets de prédilection, mais la photographie de paysage suscite également son intérêt. Cette exposition montrera “le meilleur des deux mondes”, une sélection de ses meilleures images d’Afrique et d’ailleurs.

Ingrid capture ce qu’elle voit et s’abstient de tout post-traitement extensif. Aucun élément n’est ajouté ou enlevé, car cela va à l’encontre de l’idée même de la photographie de la nature, qui montre la beauté de la nature telle qu’elle est. Grâce à sa photographie, Ingrid espère convaincre les gens de respecter la nature et de la protéger activement.

Le travail d’Ingrid a reçu plusieurs prix internationaux. Elle organise divers ateliers photographiques et écrit des articles pour des magazines de photographie. Comme elle aime partager ses connaissances et sa passion pour la faune africaine, elle mène des safaris photo en Afrique. Son nouveau livre “SAFARI! – The Essence” s’efforce d’expliquer sa fascination pour le désert africain.

  • Nom de l'exposition Rencontre avec la nature
  • Origine Belgique (Nl)
  • Site d'exposition Eglise Notre-Dame
  • Web site www.ingridvekemans.com