“The giraffe is beautiful, it’s a ladder …
… between the ground and the sky, the grass and the sun! “Marc Alyn
If every student knows the largest animal in the world, the giraffe is often forgotten when it comes to conservation. Victim of poaching or deprived of its habitat, the giraffe, long preserved, joined at the end of 2016 the long list of endangered species.

Icon of Africa, this savannah giant has lost 40% of its workforce in the last thirty years! The IUCN (International Union for the Conservation of Nature) has launched the alert: “These majestic animals are facing a silent extinction”.

Although protected in several African countries, they are illegally hunted for their meat and are also poached for their skin. But the main threat remains linked to economic development which leads to significant deforestation, and without forest giraffes can not survive. Some countries collaborate with associations to try to stop the phenomenon and find solutions (creation of new reserves, installation of GPS collar to better understand their way of life and their movements, etc …), to assist communities and the natural parks in the protection of these magnificent animals.

Let’s hope that this realization will give Jacques Prévert wrong in his premonitory opera giraffes:

“There was once giraffes,
There were a lot of giraffes.
Soon there will be no more,
It’s the man who kills them … “

It is impossible for Florence Dabenoc to imagine the African savannah without their silky silhouettes. It would be like removing the “f” from the word “Africa” ​​while it gives it all its relief and punctuates it with heat. It would be like imagining the sea ice without its polar bears, the ocean without its whales, the Indonesian forest without its orangutans ….

His exhibition Twiga (“giraffe” in Swahili) is his cry of heart, his cry of love for these majestic and endearing African icons.

  • Name of the exhibition Twiga
  • Origin France
  • Exhibition site Church Notre-Dame

“La girafe est belle, elle est une échelle…
… entre le sol et le ciel, l’herbe et le soleil!” Marc Alyn
Si chaque écolier connaît l’animal le plus grand au monde, la girafe est souvent oubliée lorsqu’il est question de conservation.  Victime de braconnage ou privée de son habitat, la girafe, longtemps préservée, a rejoint fin 2016 la longue liste des espèces menacées.

Icône de l’Afrique, cette géante de la savane a perdu 40 % de son effectif ces trente dernières années ! C’est l’UICN (Union Internationale pour la Conservation de la Nature) qui a lancé l’alerte : « Ces animaux majestueux sont confrontés à une extinction silencieuse ».

Bien que protégées dans plusieurs pays d'Afrique, elles sont illégalement chassées pour leur viande et sont aussi braconnées pour leur peau. Mais la principale menace reste liée au développement économique qui entraîne une déforestation importante, et sans forêt les girafes ne peuvent survivre. Certains pays collaborent avec des associations pour tenter d’enrayer le phénomène et trouver des solutions ( création de nouvelles réserves, pose de collier GPS pour mieux comprendre leur mode de vie et leurs déplacements, etc …), afin d’assister les communautés et les parcs  naturels dans la protection de ces magnifiques animaux.

Espérons que cette prise de conscience donnera tort à Jacques Prévert, dans son prémonitoire Opéra des girafes:

” Il y avait une fois des girafes,
Il y avait beaucoup de girafes.
Bientôt il n’y en aura plus,
C’est monsieur l’Homme qui les tue …”

Il est impossible pour Florence Dabenoc d’imaginer la savane africaine sans leurs silhouettes altières. Ce serait comme retirer le “f” du mot “Afrique” alors qu’il lui donne tout son relief et le ponctue avec chaleur. Ce serait comme imaginer la banquise sans ses ours polaires, l’océan sans ses baleines, la forêt indonésienne sans ses orang-outans ….

Son exposition Twiga (“girafe” en swahili) est son cri du cœur, son cri d’amour pour ces icônes africaines majestueuses et si attachantes.

  • Nom de l'exposition Twiga
  • Origine France
  • Site d'exposition Eglise Notre-Dame