In the Archipelago of the Royal Princess Islands, on the west coast of Canada north of Vancouver, is Gribell Island. This little piece of wild paradise, lost in the mist and covered with a dense primary forest, is home to one of the rarest endemic bear species on the planet, the Kermode Bear.

For the scientific explanation, this subspecies of the black bear presents in its genetic inheritance a surprising peculiarity, a recessive gene remained very active because of a genetic brewing almost non-existent with the bears of the continent. This gene, which is expressed only once every ten births, protects the new
born of a creamy white coat of the most beautiful effect.

The Inuit inhabiting the surrounding fishing villages and considered as first nations, take a more poetic and spiritual look at the existence of this emblematic animal. “Mokskm Ol” or “Spirit Bear”, as they name it, would be the memory of Raven a “creative crow” who, at the end of the Ice Age, would have found rest on these islands and bleached in its path the fur of a tenth of black bears to keep track of past climatic rigors and to remember the beginning of time.

Protected by these Amerindian tribes, the Kermode bear, inhabited according to legend by a spirit of terrible power, is an integral part of local folklore and is one of the solid pillars of ancestral beliefs and customs.

This exhibition of Emmanuel JUPPEAUX, photographer and nature lover, is the testimony of this mysterious and fabulous meeting, an invitation to share a bit of the spirit of the forest…

  • Name of the exhibition Meeting with the spirits
  • Origin France{:]
  • Exhibition site Parliament of Wallonia

Dans l’archipel des Iles Princesse Royale, sur la côte ouest du Canada au nord de Vancouver, se trouve l’île de Gribell. Ce petit bout de paradis sauvage, perdu dans la brume et recouvert d’une dense forêt primaire, abrite une des espèces d’ours endémique parmi les plus rares de la planète, l’ours Kermode.

Pour l’explication scientifique, cette sous-espèce de l’ours noir présente dans son patrimoine génétique une particularité étonnante, un gène récessif resté très actif du fait d’un brassage génétique quasi inexistant avec les ours du continent. Ce gène, qui ne s’exprime environ qu’une fois toute les dix naissances, pare le nouveau-
né d’un pelage blanc crème du plus bel effet.

Les Inuits peuplant les villages de pécheurs alentours et considérés comme nations premières, portent un regard plus poétique et spirituel sur l’existence de cet animal emblématique. « Mokskm Ol » ou « Ours Esprit », tel qu’ils le nomment, serait le souvenir de Raven un « corbeau créateur » qui, à la fin de l’âge de glace, aurait trouvé repos sur ces îles et blanchi sur son passage la fourrure d’un dixième des ours noirs pour conserver trace de ces rigueurs climatiques passées et en faire la mémoire du début des temps.

Protégé par ces tribus amérindiennes, l’ours Kermode, habité selon la légende par un esprit d’une terrible puissance, fait partie intégrante du folklore local et constitue un des piliers solides des croyances et coutumes ancestrales.

Cette exposition d’Emmanuel JUPPEAUX, photographe et amoureux de nature, est le témoignage de cette mystérieuse et fabuleuse rencontre, une invitation à partager un peu de l’esprit de la forêt …

  • Nom de l'exposition Rencontre avec les Esprits
  • Origine France
  • Site d'exposition Parlement de Wallonie